≡ Menu

Rainbow – Soviet Compilation (1975-1982)

While we’re waiting for the Rainbow’s album “Long Live Rock’n’Roll” re-release on a pictured vinyl LP, which suppose to happen on April 21, the record store day, in accordance to The Official Ronnie James Dio Fan Page, I would like to show you the first Soviet LP of the band. The LP was released in 1988 by the only Soviet recording company “Melody”and contains nine compositions from the different albums recorded between 1975 and 1982.

Actually, to be honest, I do not really remember if this was a first Soviet release of the compilation or not. I pretty sure it was, correct me if I’m wrong. It’s a black 12″ vinyl with very modest sleeve. The tracks included are:

1. Man On The Silver Mountain

2. Still I’m Sad

3. Long Live Rock’n’Roll

4. All Night Long

5. Stone Cold

6. If You Don’t Like Rock’n’Roll

7. Stargazer

8. Freedom Fighter

9. I Surrender

As you see, it covers Dio’s and Turner’s eras. The sleeve does not even have a band’s picture. The only picture is a small Blackmore’s one on its front side. I like this compilation because of two reasons. First of all it has really great songs of Rainbow, unfortunately not all of them. An the second reason is because it was a first Rainbow’s recording I’ve heard in my life, which opened much wider the beautiful gates of Heavy Music in front of me.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.